All Is Silence by Robert L. Slater – A Mature YA Coming-of-Age Apocalyptic Novel for Fans of the 80s

 In Dystopian, Paranormal, Post-Apocalyptic, Young Adult

A future that could be ours. It is the world where suicidal teenager Lizzie lives in. The land has been deserted, ravaged by disease, and Lizzie is losing her will to live – until she calls a mysterious phone number, and goes across the country to meet a stranger who is already supposed to be dead. Lizzie must face a world that is spiraling into fear, anger, and lust. She ultimately must decide who her friends are, and who her family is, and who poses as dangers to all of them.

 

 

Our Summary

All Is Silence is a thrilling YA coming-of-age apocalyptic novel set in a familiar future. Readers follow the teenager Lizzie, who goes along a cross-country roadtrip in a land destroyed by disease, and who must face a world where her friends may very well be dangerous to her. Fans of The Stand and The Knife of Never Letting Go will enjoy this YA apocalyptic suspense, that will leave you breathless long after you read the last page.

What Readers Are Saying

I love end of the world survival stories and this one was an easy read that showed another possibility to the dystopian literature. Like a combination of the Road by Cormac McCarthy and The Blackout by Stephanie Erickson, All is Silence follows a troubled girl who has been left behind by most of the world and clings to the few people left that she knows.” – Rachel Barnard, Amazon reviewer ★★★★★
In a world where we are being overwhelmed with books full of dystopian teenage angst, this is one worth reading. Well worth it. Read it!” – lacey waters, Amazon reviewer ★★★★★
Rob Slater has poured a lot into this and the end result is a powerful, can’t-put-it-down read. The book would stand wonderfully on its own; as the prologue to a series, it’s better still.” – J.D. Maloy, Amazon reviewer ★★★★★

About the Author

Robert L. Slater is a teacher and a writer living in Bellingham, Washington. He has a B.A. in Theatre/Education, Spanish and History minors and an M.A. in Educational Technology. He also sings, acts, and practices Tae Kwon Do. You can visit him online at www.DesertedLands.com. You can also follow him on Twitter @robertlslater.

Similar Books

  • The Stand by Stephen King
  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
  • Earth Abides by George R. Stewart
  • The Road by Cormac McCarthy
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Preview the Book

All Is Silence is a YA coming-of-age thrillerthat will appeal to fans of dystopia, post-apocalypse, apocalyptic stories, alternate futures, lands destroyed by diseases, survival stories, misfits, the 80s, roadtrips, and tough anti-heroines.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search