Complications – A Romantic Historical Fiction Novel With A Twist

 In Historical, Romance

 

Strong-willed and stunningly beautiful. That’s what Amelia Daventry is. The only things she doesn’t have are the clothes and the luxuries to match – but her family can’t afford him, so she has to use her cunning and find the wealthiest and most powerful husband there is. She’s certain that she would never consider Mr. Brightford, a man whose sharp tongue and constant frowns make it hard to endear him to her. Amelia’s best friend, Lottie Harrington, is sure she’s found the man she wants to marry – but her hopes are about to be destroyed, causing pain and chaos to herself and to the people around her. Her headstrong brother Benjamin meanwhile has feelings for other men, but his parents expect him to marry. When he meets the man he can love, he faces a difficult choice – without even being certain that the gentleman returns his affection. These three friends have to suffer heartbreak and tragedy, as their lives are about to become extremely complicated.

Our Summary

Complications is a romantic historical fiction novel about three young people who are struggling for their loves. The story follows Lottie, Amelia, and Benjamin, as they navigate their way through society and overcome the barriers that prevent them from living a life of happily ever after with their lovers. Fans of Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility will love this elegant historical romance novel that will keep you excited until the very end.

What Readers Are Saying

Excellent read, plenty of accurate historical detail and description of scenery. Altogether a very well written and gripping book.” – Jo and Mick, Amazon reviewer ★★★★★
I enjoyed the book and thought it well written. I found the main character very interesting especially seeing her develop over the story. I am looking forward to the author’s next book.” – Sorrel, Amazon reviewer ★★★★

 


About the Author

Clare Jayne began writing novels when she was still a teenager. She worked a variety of jobs, including being a legal secretary and a sales advisor, while trying to get a traditional publisher for her work. Her short play performed by a dramatics group and recorded on local radio. It won first place in a writing competition, and inspired her to self-publish. She has a website with a historical blog at http://clarejayne.com. You can also follow her on Twitter @Clare_Jayne1.

Similar Books

  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Splendor by Anna Godbersen
  • Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer
  • Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase
  • The Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson

Preview the Book

Complications is a historical romance novel that will appeal to fans of high societies, balls, love problems, social dilemmas, and heroes who will do everything for the ones they love.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search