Crowning the Slug Queen by L.M. Fortin – A Thrilling Cozy Mystery with Pageants

It’s a tough week for Callie Stone. She’s been fired from her job as an event planner in New York, and the return to her hometown of Skinner, Oregon gives her exactly what she needs – a vacation. But it’s anything but a relaxing time, because Callie assists an old friend by taking a beauty pageant. And it’s not your typical pageant, because in this one, the contenders try to out-diva each other to become the Skinner Slug Queen. It’s a deadly competition, made much more dangerous when one of the participants is found dead backstage. Suddenly things are much more sinister than they seem, and between her mother’s vegetarian stews, her best friend’s attractive ex-husband, and the pageant full of cross-dressing contestants, there’s just too much to keep Callie away from a moments rest.

 

Our Summary 

Crowning the Slug Queen is a thrilling cozy mystery set in the town of Skinner, Oregon. The story revolves around Callie Stone, whose supposed relaxing vacation becomes mired in intrigue as she starts investigating the death of one of the contestants of the local beauty pageant. Fans of MC Beaton and Hamish MacBeth will love this suspenseful amateur sleuth mystery that will keep you turning the pages until its breathtaking conclusion.

What Readers Are Saying

What a treat! I applaud Fortin’s ability to recreate the ‘vibe’ of Oregon–a place with such a distinct personality– through her writing. Her characters are endearing, and the story is just weird enough to be believable.” – Laura M. Johnson, Amazon reviewer ★★★★★ 
I thought the quality of writing and editing was of a very high standard, again helping this book stand out in the sea of kindle cosies I read. Really, give this a try if you enjoy cosy mysteries, it is a modern, fun cosy that deserves so many more good reviews!” – Foostle, Amazon reviewer ★★★★ 
This is a perfect summer read. A great first novel and I look forward to reading more in the series. Callie Stone is a likable detective with a penchant for getting into trouble. Fortin has created a wonderful, quirky town in Skinner, Oregon… and characters you will care about and what to hear more from. I highly recommend this book.” – AJCC, Amazon reviewer ★★★★★ 

About the Author

L.M. Fortin is an author and an event organizer. She has planned for graduations, conferences, and gala lunches, and all of these give her material to work with. She lives in the Pacific Northwest in a town like Skinner. You can visit her website at http://lmfortin.wordpress.com.

Similar Books

  • The Hamish MacBeth series by MC Beaton
  • The Knitting Mystery series by Hamish MacBeth
  • The Third Girl by Nell Goddin
  • A Quiet Life In the Country by TE Kinsey
  • Pekoe Most Poison by Laura Childs

Preview the Book

Crowning the Slug Queen is a  cozy mystery book that will appeal to fans of suspense, small towns, pageants, mysterious deaths, handsome ex-husbands, vacations gone wrong, and a heroine who’s determined to solve it all.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search