Shearwater – a young adult mermaid fantasy

 In Fantasy, Young Adult

MERMAIDS ARE REAL…
And they’re going to kill us all. 

My life was ripped away from me when my parents died in a car accident. After moving to Ireland to live with a grandfather I didn’t even know existed, I discovered my mother’s past was filled with unresolved drama – dark secrets screaming to be uncovered. Strange things keep happening around me. Happening to me. Is it because of Sebastian, the golden-haired hunk who showed up in town at the same time as I did? Or Ethan, the brooding hottie locals whisper plays with dark magic?

Maybe both… or neither. But someone is definitely out to get me, and I need to figure out why, and fast. I’m discovering powers of my own–powers I can’t contain. If I don’t discover who is after me or the real reason my mother fled Ireland, more people are going to die.

DEREK

Our Summary

Shearwater by Derek Murphy is a thrilling urban fantasy romance set in Ireland. The story revolves around Irish mythology and the clash between an ancient race of witches and the merrow (mermaid), who are preparing to wipe out civilization. Fans of Percy Jackson, Nancy Drew and Twilight will love this supernatural thriller that keeps you guessing till the last page.

 

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING

 

A thrilling urban fantasy romance set in Ireland. The story revolves around Irish mythology and the clash between an ancient race of witches and the merrow (mermaids), who are preparing to wipe out civilization. Fans of Percy Jackson, Nancy Drew and Twilight will love this epic adventure that keeps you guessing till the last page.” Imlovingbooks.com ★★★★★ 

Not just another Twilight–even though we do have sparkly mermaids instead of sparkly vampires. But the story itself is well told and the characters act and respond like real people instead of cardboard cutouts. The mystic premise of the mer-people is even almost believable in the context of the Irish coastal culture, and the interactions between the characters are more encompassing than just the make-believe of the story. Although it’s written for young adults, as a mainstream adult I found the story entertaining and readable, and even subscribed to the author’s site to get the next installment as well as his other books.” —Amazon Reviewer★★★★★

The author’s writing and editing is impeccable, and his research is substantial. I feel like I’m at the exotic locales described. His backstory and science behind the mermaid phenomenon is solidly explained and more than adequate to suspend my disbelief. The author also presents a lot of this backstory as not an info-dump, so kudos for that.” —Amazon Reviewer★★★★★

 

About the author

Derek Murphy has a Ph.D. in Literature and travels full time. and loves weaving mythology and history into his stories to make readers question the boundary between reality and possibility. In 2016 he rented a castle for Nanowrimo and got featured on CNN. If you enjoy urban and dark fantasy, scifi and technothriller, postapocalyptic and dystopian fiction, you can visit his fiction blog, www.UrbanEpics.com.

Similar books

  • The Siren, Kiera Cass
  • Watersong, Amanda Hocking
  • Deep Blue, Jennifer Donnelly
  • The Vicious Deep, Zoraida Córdova
  • The Mermaid’s Sister, Carrie Anne Noble

Preview the book

 

 

Shearwater is a young adult mermaid novel that will appeal to lovers of paranormal romance, urban fantasy, witches, Irish mythology, supernatural folklore and, of course, mermaids.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search