Shock of Fate by D.L. Armillei – A YA Fantasy Adventure Book

 In Adventure, Fantasy, Young Adult

 

All fifteen-year-old Vanessa Cross ever wanted was to have a normal, fun summer, hanging out on the beach and going to the beauty salon. But it becomes far from the typical vacation when she gets coerced through a portal, leading her to an alternate reality called the Living World. There, she finds out that the only way to get back is to retrieve a relic called the Coin of Creation. There she meets new friends and finds her first love, travels by magical tree truk and befriends gnomes. Most of all, Van finds the path to the great destiny that awaits her – but only if she can survive the treacherous journey.

 

Our Summary

Shock of Fate is a YA fantasy adventure novel set in the enchanting Living World. The story revolves around fifteen-year-old Van Cross, whose summer becomes far from normal when she goes through a portal that leads her to a different reality. There she befriends gnomes, learns about magic, and finds her true love – all the while moving towards her great destiny. Fans of Harry Potter and Fablehaven will love this magical adventure novel that will leave you enchanted long after the last page.

What Readers Are Saying

This is a wonderful fantasy story that has a lot of action and full of surprises. The story revolves around Vanessa and her mission to find a relic. I love that this story is written with plenty of background information provided. Through stories and flashbacks, you read all about how the current situation has come about.” – Laura Furuta, Amazon reviewer ★★★★★
The author did a wonderful job of creating an enjoyable adventure that had more to it than the surface story, with the focus on how people make themselves slaves to materialism.” – M. Ziegler, Amazon reviewer ★★★★
D. L. Armillei creates a world that is intriguing and supernatural in the five star novel Shock of Fate. It is the first book in the Anchoress series taking the reader into a world where humans are separated by bloodlines and worlds. A world where prejudices cloud the judgement of rich and poor alike creating difficulties for Van and her team to work together to achieve the mission that they have been chosen for.” – Angelique Armstead, Amazon reviewer ★★★★★

About the Author

Donna splits her time between her home state of Massachusetts, and Florida. She can often be found sweating in a Zumba class or playing in the Universal and Disney parks. She also loves hanging around tiki huts – as long as they’re on white sand beaches. She scuba dives and snorkels. She earned her bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from Northeastern University, and an associate degree in Diagnositc Medical Sonography from Community College of Rhode Island. You can visit her online at www.dlarmillei.com, and find her on Facebook.

Similar Books

  • The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
  • The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
  • The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
  • Fablehaven by Brandon Mull

Preview the Book

Shock of Fate is a YA epic fantasy novel that will appeal to fans of adventure, magic, destinies, alternate worlds, portals, magical travel, love, romance, gnomes, trolls, relics, prophecies, and heroines who are destined for great things.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search