to top

An Enchanting Battle for Love and Power: A Review of “The Selection” Series by Kiera Cass

Dive into the intriguing world of regality, romance, and rebellion with Kiera Cass’ highly addictive series, “The Selection.” This captivating collection, which resonates with the readers who crave a blend of dystopian, fantasy, and romance genres, gives us a fresh take on the rags-to-riches trope with its captivating story arc, relatable characters, and thrilling political undercurrents.


In a dystopian future, the Kingdom of Illea categorizes its citizens into a strict caste system. The series starts when America Singer, a lowly Five, gets selected for “The Selection” — a televised competition for the hand of Prince Maxon and the title of the future queen. As America gets entangled in the glamour and the grueling reality of the competition, she battles not just with the 34 other competitors but also with her own heart, torn between the charming Prince Maxon and her first love, Aspen, who is a caste below her.

Over the course of the series, we follow America’s journey — her struggles, heartaches, and victories — against the backdrop of a kingdom teetering on the edge of revolution. Along with love and power, the series explores themes like societal structure, rebellion, friendship, and the meaning of true leadership.

Notable Quotes

  • “True love is usually the most inconvenient kind.”
  • “I hope you find someone you can’t live without. I really do. And I hope you never have to know what it’s like to have to try and live without them.”
  • “No, I’m not choosing him or you. I’m choosing me.”


Kiera Cass weaves a compelling narrative with “The Selection” series. She offers us a protagonist who is far from perfect yet deeply relatable. America’s strength, resilience, and compassion shine through, making her a heroine readers can root for. Prince Maxon, on the other hand, is a complex character whose growth throughout the series is a delightful journey to follow.

The plot is filled with unexpected twists that keep the reader glued to the pages. The subtle commentary on societal structures and power dynamics adds depth, making it more than just a fairy tale romance. The combination of romance, tension, and political intrigue makes for an enthralling reading experience.

The series is not without its flaws, though. At times, the love triangle feels overdone, and certain plot developments might come off as convenient. However, the engaging storytelling and the overall character development make up for these minor drawbacks.

The Selection Series in Order

The Selection series by Kiera Cass is a fascinating journey into a dystopian world with a unique take on royal competition. Below is the chronological order of the series:

  1. “The Selection” (2012) – It all begins with 35 girls being selected to compete for the heart of Prince Maxon and the crown of Illea. For America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare because it means turning her back on her secret love and facing cutthroat girls in a competition she never wanted.
  2. “The Elite” (2013) – The pool of girls competing for Prince Maxon’s heart has been narrowed down to the Elite group of six. America Singer is among them and she’s torn between her growing love for Maxon and the pull of her past.
  3. “The One” (2014) – The competition reaches a head as America Singer continues her struggle to figure out her heart, and a rebellion against the monarchy gains momentum.
  4. “The Heir” (2015) – The perspective shifts to Princess Eadlyn, the daughter of America Singer and Prince Maxon. She must hold her own Selection, something she never wanted, but the heart doesn’t always listen to reason.
  5. “The Crown” (2016) – In the final book of the series, Eadlyn must make a choice that will not only affect her but the future of Illea as well.

It’s important to note that Kiera Cass also wrote several novellas that offer different perspectives or additional content to the main series. These include “The Prince” (2013), “The Guard” (2014), “The Queen” (2014), and “The Favorite” (2015).

If you plan to read these as well, it’s suggested to follow the order of publication to avoid spoilers.


With its engaging characters, intriguing plot, and a balanced blend of romance and political intrigue, “The Selection” series is a solid 4 out of 5.

Author Bio

Kiera Cass is an American author of young adult fiction, best known for “The Selection” series. She graduated from Radford University and published her first book, “The Siren,” in 2009. Her work, which primarily falls into the young adult and romance genres, has been translated into more than 32 languages.

FAQs / Study or Book Club Questions

  1. How does the caste system influence the characters’ actions and beliefs in “The Selection”?
  2. How do America’s feelings for Maxon and Aspen evolve throughout the series?
  3. In what ways does the concept of power play out in the narrative?
  4. How do the characters grow over the course of the series?
  5. What role does the media play in the story, and how does it relate to our real-world media?

Where to buy

“The Selection” series by Kiera Cass is available for purchase here.

The Adaptation

Fans of “The Selection” series are in for a treat, as Netflix has picked up the rights for the adaptation. While there are limited details about the cast and release date, the anticipation for the series is high among fans. Given the captivating narrative and the visually rich world that Cass has created, “The Selection” adaptation has the potential to be a hit among fans and new viewers alike.

Leave a Comment