to top

The Chronicles of Prydain: A Tumultuous Tale of Pigs, Princes, and Powerful Life Lessons

book review

Prepare to be whisked off into a vibrant tapestry of valiant heroes, enigmatic enchantresses, lumbering creatures, and ravenous monsters in Lloyd Alexander’s “The Chronicles of Prydain”. It’s a series that pirouettes delicately between the buoyant mirth of humorous characters and the solemn grey mist of profound life lessons—an engaging balancing act that makes this epic saga a timeless classic.


The series trails the life of Taran, a restless Assistant Pig-Keeper, whose carefree existence in Caer Dallben takes a tumultuous turn. Taran embarks on an exhilarating journey alongside an endearing band of friends, an incessantly chattering creature, and a precocious princess, wading through the treacherous waters of war, self-discovery, and deeds of exceptional courage.

The Complete Chronicles of Prydain Series in Order:

  1. The Book of Three (1964): Taran’s monotonous life takes a surprising turn when the oracular pig he’s assistant keeper to, Hen Wen, goes missing, instigating an exciting rescue mission.
  2. The Black Cauldron (1965): Taran is embroiled in an epic quest to seize the evil Black Cauldron, a symbol of death that the nefarious Horned King covets to create an invincible army.
  3. The Castle of Llyr (1966): Centering on a rescue mission to save the kidnapped princess Eilonwy, this volume further unfurls Taran’s understanding of loyalty and love.
  4. Taran Wanderer (1967): Taran embarks on a pursuit of self-discovery to unearth his lineage, meeting diverse characters and garnering life-altering wisdom.
  5. The High King (1968): The final showdown against Arawn, the wicked Death Lord, engulfs the Land of Prydain, where sacrifices are made and true heroes emerge.

Notable Quotes:

  • “We’re neither of us so unwise as to confuse what we have with what we are.”
  • “For each of us comes a time when we must be more than what we are.”

Poignant quotes from “The Chronicles of Prydain” series by Lloyd Alexander:

  1. “We all of us must come to terms with what and who we are, and recognize that this wisdom is not going to earn us any praise, that life is not going to pin a medal on us for recognizing and enduring our own vanity or egoism or baldness or our potbelly.” – Taran Wanderer
  2. “There is more to a heart than a healthy beat.” – The Castle of Llyr
  3. “But once you have traveled, the voyage never ends… The mind can never break off from the journey.” – The High King
  4. “Long ago I yearned to be a hero without knowing, in truth, what a hero was. Now, perhaps, I understand it a little better. A grower of turnips or a shaper of clay, a Commot farmer or a king–every man is a hero if he strives more for others than for himself alone.” – Taran Wanderer
  5. “Much more there is for you to learn: To show pity. To hold fast to the way of the warrior. But above all, to love justice. For ill-done deeds fall heaviest at home … and that is a fate indeed.” – The Book of Three

These quotes reflect the profound wisdom and moral integrity that are central to the enduring appeal of Lloyd Alexander’s “The Chronicles of Prydain” series. They mirror the soulful and philosophical backdrop thriving behind this exhilarating adventure tale.


Alexander’s Prydain Chronicles are an enchanting amalgam of humor, wisdom, and unforgettable characters. Inspired by Welsh mythology, the epic adorns its exhilarating quest narratives with lessons of bravery, the understanding of self-worth, and the importance of knowledge. It embodies the essence of Bookslut’s whimsical yet poised style with an added dash of youthful vibrancy.



Author Bio

American author Lloyd Alexander, a reputable figure in children’s literature, is known for his ability to imbue tales of adventure with profound life lessons. His flair for morphing the everyday mundane into heroic sagas is on full display in the Chronicles of Prydain.

FAQ or study/book club questions:

  • How does Taran’s character evolve over the series?
  • How does The Chronicles of Prydain incorporate elements of Welsh mythology?
  • Discuss the representation and significance of the female characters in the series.

Where to buy:

“The Chronicles of Prydain” series can be found here on Amazon.

Leave a Comment